an official website!

Hello! and welcome to the official orange mandalade website and blog! I’m so excited to have a real web address and look forward to sharing lots of great things with you. I’d really like to thank my amazing boyfriend George for helping with the design of this blog. I host this site through WordPress.com, which offers great templates but I wanted to create something that was a compliment to my style and he helped me with all of the daunting web things that I’m convinced I will never completely learn. I’m such a lucky girl to have this kind of help by my side.

Last month I relaunched my etsy shop with new designs on fabric. So far all of my friends and family have had many kind and positive words and I’m SO very thankful for all of that love and support.  The idea of launching something new was to shift my focus from printing on paper to fabric, although I still love making paper prints and will do a little bit of it here and there. My work and shop are certainly not perfected but I am happier each week with the little bits of progress I make. Here’s a little bit of why I made this change in my work.

The inspiration for this change:

For a long time I now I have been in love with prints on fabric and textiles. If I could be thrown in to a job where I designed and was in any way involved with textiles I would be in heaven. I dabbled with the idea of printing some of my designs through online digital printing sources (and still may) but then began block printing my own designs. While I love this type of printing my drawings were more well suited for screen printing. I then took a screen printing class through The Baltimore Print Studios, set up a little area in my tiny studio and have been printing all of what you see in my shop (and more). So far I’ve been using two of my basic designs and look forward to introducing more in the next few months.

The bags:

I’m forever indebted to my good friend Kienda who asked me to make her a REALLY BIG purse. She saw one of my very first and the only one I had posted in my etsy shop that was very small and wanted a much bigger tote. Below are two bags I made for her to choose from (she picked the one with teal for anyone who is curious).

For me this sparked a great idea. What if I made bags?! I love handbags. I could have a million for every occasion and in every color. Why not combine two things I love?! I am very excited to be making handbags of all shapes and sizes and cannot wait to bring more styles in to the shop. Every time I begin a printing or sewing session I am flooded excitement and joy. Hopefully, someday I will be doing this full time…unless I’m designing fabrics or something very fancy.

I hope that those of you who have enjoyed what I’m doing will follow me here. Not only will I be posting my work and progress but many other craft world things and tidbits that I think others would enjoy (I promise my posts will not always be SO lengthy, btw).

As a special offer to my newest readers and my few loyal followers I’m offering a 15% discount in the entire shop through Memorial Day! Enter the code: BESTIES

❤ amanda

Leave a Reply

